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By charging combined wage claims 
to employers, trust fund saves money 

Gov. Mike Huckabee will formally 
announce the Arkansas Mature Worker 
Initiative at 10 a.m. April 12 in the 
Governor’s Conference Room at the 
Capitol. 

AARP selected Arkansas as a pilot 
state for this national initiative. The 
initiative will work with community 
partners to encourage mature workers 
(age 50+) to remain in the labor force and 
employers to hire from this group. 

Current projections indicate that 43 
percent of the current workforce will be 
eligible for retirement in the next 10 years. 
In addition, 61 percent of new entrants 
into the labor force (age 16 to 25) will 

not be fully qualified. These factors will 
result in a significant decrease in the 
availability of qualified workers. 

AARP hopes to increase the 
awareness and appreciation of mature 
workers by developing relationships with 
the public workforce system, states, 
chambers of commerce, national and local 
training providers, trade associations, 
labor unions, community organizations, 
policy makers and business leaders. 

The national AARP office has selected 
several national employers to participate 
in the Featured Employers Program. The 
program identifies employers who have 
made a commitment to hiring mature 

Governor to announce Mature Worker Initiative 
workers. Several of the following 
companies have operations in Arkansas: 
The Home Depot, Adecco, Allied Barton, 
Borders Group, Cendant Car Rental 
Group - Avis/Budget, Cingular Wireless, 
Comcast Cable, CVS/pharmacy, 
Express Personnel Services, Johns 
Hopkins Medicine, Kelly Services Inc., 
Manpower Inc., MetLife Inc., New York 
Life Insurance Co., News America 
Marketing, Quest Diagnostics, Pitney 
Bowes Inc., Principal Financial Group, 
Right at Home, Schneider National Inc., 
SunTrust Banks Inc., Universal Health 
Services, Verizon and Walgreens. 

Unemployed individuals with 
wages in more than one state have the 
option of filing a combined wage claim. 
The state in which the CWC claim is 
filed becomes the paying state, and its 
laws are used to determine benefit 
eligibility. 

When a CWC claim is filed, the 
paying state requests the other state(s) 
in which the claimant has wages to 
“transfer” those wages to the paying 
state for use in the CWC claim. If the 
claimant draws CWC benefits, the 
paying state bills each transferring state 
for its pro rata share of the benefits 
paid. 

Until recently, Arkansas has not had 
the ability to charge these CWC 
billings to specific employers. This 
inability to charge has had two 
negative consequences. First, 

Arkansas’ Unemployment Insurance 
Trust Fund has been forced to absorb 
these costs. When these costs are 
spread across the trust fund, all 
Arkansas employers, in essence, wind 
up footing the bill rather than the CWC 
claimants’ specific former employers. 

Secondly, the absorption of these 
costs by the trust fund results in a 
smaller trust fund balance. A small trust 
fund balance has the potential to 
increase contribution amounts paid by 
Arkansas employers as it directly 
affects the unemployment insurance 
stabilization tax rates – the greater the 
trust fund balance the smaller the 
stabilization tax. 

In the past, employers received a 
Notice to Base Period Employer 
(ARK ESD 550) for CWC claims but 
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Since the passage of Act 1705 of 2005 
that transferred the Transitional 
Employment Assistance Program from the 
Department of Health and Human 
Services to the  Department of Workforce 
Services, both agencies have implemented 
several initiatives to make the transition 
smooth. 

The TEA program provides assistance 
to low-income parents who qualify for 
services. To ensure TEA clients receive 
uninterrupted services, the transfer of staff 
and resources had to be seamless. 

TEA staff who transferred to DWS 
received a two-day agency orientation. 
Staff were provided information on the 
programs DWS administers and how the 
TEA program fits into the DWS mission. 
Attendees were also provided information 
on the reporting structure, client flow and 
transition plans. 

In January, TEA staff received training 

Employees’ efforts result 
in smooth TEA transition 
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were not charged for the benefits paid. 
Arkansas now has the ability to charge 
employers for wages used in the CWC 
claims. Employers will continue receiving 
the Notice to Base Period Employer, and 
beginning in July 2006 the Quarterly 
Statement of Paid Benefits Charged to 
Your Account (ARK ESD 546 for tax- 
rated employers and 547 for reimbursable 
employers) will reflect CWC charges as 
well. 

Please be aware that at the time the 
Notice to Base Period Employer is mailed 
the potential CWC charge amount is not 
available and will not be listed. 
Employers should respond to these 
notices even though the potential 
charge amount is not listed. 

CWC charges listed on the Quarterly 
Statement of Paid Benefits Charged to 
Your Account are marked “CWC.” 
CWC charges will generally be one 
quarter behind regular benefit charges. 

The process for Requesting Review of 
Charges (protest) does not change as a 
result of the addition of CWC charges. 
Employers must make such requests in 
writing within 30 days of the mailing date 
of the Statement of Paid Benefits Charged 
to Your Account. Additionally, failure to 
protest charges the first time they appear 
for an individual results in forfeiture of the 
right to request review on subsequent 
charges for the individual on a claim for 
the same benefit year. 

In conclusion, the ability to charge for 
CWC benefits is a positive step for 
Arkansas’ unemployment insurance 
system as it will improve the stability of 
the trust fund and effect a fundamental 
tenet of our tax rating system – benefit 
charges are to be assigned to employers 
responsible for the costs. Those with 
questions should contact Doris Martin, 
the Charge Unit manager, at (501) 682- 
3313. 

To promote the program in Arkansas, 
Gov. Huckabee requested in January 
2005 that the Arkansas Workforce 
Investment Board make this initiative one 
of its top priorities. The board created 
the Statewide Initiative for Mature Job 
Seekers and Employers Committee. 
Representatives from the board, DWS, 
AARP, state agencies and the public 
comprise the committee. 

In January 2005 Arkansas received the 
AARP Mature Worker Concept Paper 
that outlines activities to promote the 
initiative. In March 2005, local and 
national AARP officials met with state 
agencies to review the paper and discuss 
the state plan. 

In September 2005, Gov. Huckabee 
signed a proclamation announcing “Hire 
Older Workers Week.” A copy of this 
proclamation is available on the DWS 
Web site at www.arkansas.gov/esd. 

The AWIB subcommittee has been 
planning regional meetings and other 
activities. On March 27, AARP’s Web 
sites will be linked to the DWS, AWIB 
and Arkansas Job Link Web sites. 

Beginning in April, several regional 
meetings with community and business 
leaders will be held around the state to 
encourage support. Arkansas employers 
who are successfully utilizing mature 
workers will speak at the meetings. 

The first meeting will be held from 
11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. April 18 at the 
Business and Industry Center at Pulaski 
Technical College in Little Rock. 

Other meetings are planned for Hot 
Springs, Fort Smith, Springdale, 
Mountain Home, South-Central and 
East-Northeast Arkansas. 

In August 2006, representatives from 
the AWIB committee and employers will 
make a presentation at the Arkansas 
Economic Development Conference. 

As more employers and mature 
workers become aware of the initiative, 
Arkansas Workforce Center staff stands 
ready to provide assessment, employment 
and training assistance. 

Those wanting more information can 
call Kimberly Friedman with DWS at 
(501) 682-3125 or Rebecca Trammell 
with AWIB at (501) 371-1033. 
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Work Opportunity 
and Welfare-to-Work Tax Credits 

For information, go to 
www.arkansas.gov/esd/ForEmployer/A_wotc.htm. 

You also can call your local Arkansas Workforce Center 
or 1-866-330-9459. 

on how to use the Arkansas Job Link 
System, an Internet-based self-service 
system that matches employers and 
qualified job seekers. Because a portion 
of TEA case management involves 
placing TEA clients into jobs, AJL is a 
valuable component toward achieving that 
goal. 

AJL is available 24 hours a day, seven 
days a week for employers who wish to 
post their own job orders and to job 
seekers interested in applying for jobs. 
Assistance also is available at the 
Arkansas Workforce Centers. 

TEA staff will also attend upcoming 
regional meetings to discuss issues 
regarding the transition. At these meetings, 
staff will be informed about upcoming 
changes to the TEA program because of 
budget reconciliation and the 
implementation of the Arkansas Work 
Pays program in July 2006. 

Besides training for the TEA staff, 
DWS local office managers and area 
operations chiefs received training on their 
responsibilities under the TEA program. 
Managers also received training on the 
ANSWER case management system 
used to document TEA client data and 
work activities. Later this month, 
managers will attend training on case 
management activities. 

DHHS and DWS employees are 
working to develop eligibility and case 
management policy for the Arkansas 
Work Pays program. The program will 
allow up to 3,000 former TEA clients to 
receive supportive services and case 
management activities that will lead to 
increased earnings for the family. 

Participants will be eligible for the same 
support services and assistance as families 
enrolled in the TEA program and will 
receive monthly cash assistance equal to 
the maximum monthly TEA benefit for a 
family of three with no income. 


